Newby

Create your project threads here if you prefer to keep them out of the regular forums

Moderator: Moderators

Bicks
Baby Mustang
Baby Mustang

Newby

Post by Bicks »

G'day guys! I'm new to the scene. I am looking to start a project car. I have always been keen to learn and I now have the time and the money to get into it however very little experience.

Roughly what I am looking for:

Earlier than 70's (love the classic style, dont like the Mach style)
Fastback would be great (understand they are getting pricey)
Wouldn't mind a coupe but with a V8 (with my limited experience I wouldn't really like to attempt a 6 cyl to V8 conversion)
Working condition highly desirable

I am happy to re-do interior, paint job and to recon the engine and replace parts over time. Would not be confident with handling major rust.

I have some mates close by eager to help but if I stuff things up, I would be looking to spend a lil more to get someone to un-muff it.

I've noticed that it would prob be cheaper to import than to buy one in Aus that roughly meets what I am looking for. I understand I could be looking at 10-15k. (if i could find one cheaper...great)

So I thought I would just say Hi and get some opinions on the direction I should take.

Cheers Bicks :drool:
IGALOP
Mustang Star
Mustang Star

Re: Newby

Post by IGALOP »

If you can possibly do it, get a car from Australia.
There have been that many so called "project" cars imported that have caused massive headaches, it's not funny.
Get the best bodied car you can afford and have an experienced eye check it over for you.
What area of Vic are you in?
Good luck!
Last edited by IGALOP on Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Selling the Mustang story to all those who will listen!
There are many listening in Gippsland.
Bicks
Baby Mustang
Baby Mustang

Post by Bicks »

Sale, lol not far from you by the looks.

I will def keep looking in country.
nassi
Mustang King
Mustang King

Post by nassi »