Technical Discussion on Pre-1973 Mustangs

Moderator: Moderators

Gav
Baby Mustang
Baby Mustang

Suspension advice for my 65 Mustang soft top

Post by Gav »

Hi all,

THis is my first post on the site so please bare with me.

I have a 1965 Mustang convertible. It is a GT 350 clone. I have been working on the beast for the last twelve Months and it now goes and stops nicely. I am now up to the part where I want to improve the handling. I run a 17" show wheel on all four corners. I am looking for a ride that allows me to throw it into a corner and enjoy v's currently tip toeing around the corner due to body roll and some scrubbing on the guards. I take the family on outings so the ride can not be race track like.

Any advice on a combination that won't result in a mortgage on the house?

Gav
MustangMedic
Mustang King
Mustang King

Re: Suspension advice for my 65 Mustang soft top

Post by MustangMedic »

Nice looking ride,Gav and welcome to the forum,I'm no handling guru how ever I'm sure mr Ozbilt will be along shortly.
Cheers.
Medic
(Always work smarter not harder!!!)
67 C Code coupe
ozbilt
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by ozbilt »

Springs, shocks, sway bars & a few mods to existing suspension.

Height of the car looks good & I assume you will want to keep that? If the car bottoms out when rear seat passengers are aboard, then you may need to up the rear spring rate.

I would only fit Koni or Bilstein shock absorbers as they are for life, adjustable & rebuildable.

Sway bars, put the next size larger on the front & if you like, fit one on the rear. Good news is the car body is stiff as it has both torque boxes in the front, something a coupe or fastback does not.