Paint process- bare metal then????

Need help on paint, paint prep, welding, engines etc?

Moderator: Moderators

shaun071
Senior Mustang
Senior Mustang

Paint process- bare metal then????

Post by shaun071 »

Hi All,
I've nearly finished the underside of my coupe and am at the planning stage for paint and bodywork. Is Intergard the best primer to apply over bare metal and can it be used under acrylic or only 2pak? I'm not sure whether to go with 2 pak or use acrylic. What are the pros/cons of both systems for someone spraying at home? I've sprayed a few cars in the past, mostly with acrylic so I'm new to 2pak paint systems. A local paint supplier told me not to bother with acrylic
and just use a 2pak system as follows

1, 2k wash primer (needs overcoat of primer within an hour or 2)
2, 2k primer filler
3, top coat

Any advice?

Thanks Shaun
boofhead
Mustang King
Mustang King

Re: Paint process- bare metal then????

Post by boofhead »

I am not an expert on this topic so this is a simple mans opinion.

I would do it using 2Pak absolutely. If you are going to go to the trouble use the superior paint finish. You will need an appropriate mask to protect yourself. An option that I used for one of my cars was to rent a paint booth when doing the final colour/clear coats. In the big picture it is not an expensive option.
I will someday think of something clever to say.
shaun071
Senior Mustang
Senior Mustang

Post by shaun071 »

I've got a good quality full face mask and can get disposable overalls etc from work. I was leaning toward using 2pak but I'm not sure on what products etc work together
boofhead
Mustang King
Mustang King

Post by boofhead »

Stick with the same brand for the various layers and you should be sweet.

I have used De Beer (note: choice was influence by others that know far more than me) - not expensive and has worked out well.

http://www.debeer.com.au/
Last edited by boofhead on Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
shaun071